Supporters & Endorsers

Measure D - Berkeley's soda tax - is supported by prominent, respected organizations and individuals in and beyond Berkeley.  The list below contains a number of them.  We receive new endorsements every day - please check back for updated lists.  

Official endorsers of Measure D are listed in bold.


American Heart Association
Berkeley NAACP
Latinos Unidos de Berkeley 
League of Women Voters Berkeley, Albany, Emeryville
Berkeley Federation of Teachers
Berkeley Dental Society
The Ecology Center
Lifelong Medical Care, Inc.
Downtown Berkeley YMCA
YMCA of the Central Bay Area
ACLU Berkeley/North East Bay Chapter
Alameda-Contra Costa Medical Association
Alameda County Democratic Party Central Committee  
Associated Students of the University of California Berkeley
Berkeley Community Gardening Collaborative
Berkeley Council of Classified Employees
Berkeley Democratic Club
Berkeley Firefighters Association
Berkeley Media Studies Group 
Berkeley Organizing Congregations for Action
Berkeley Youth Alternatives
Bette's Oceanview Diner
California Black Health Network
California Center for Public Health Advocacy
California Federation of Teachers
California Nurses Association
Cafe Leila, Berkeley
East Bay Stonewall Democratic Club
Healthy & Active Before 5
Healthy Black Families
John George Democratic Club
Kiwi Pediatrics Medical Group
Latino Coalition for a Healthy California
Malcolm X Elementary PTA
National Women's Political Caucus - Alameda North
The Natural Grocery Company
Options Recovery Services
Parents of Children of African Descent
Physicians for Social Responsibility, S.F. Bay Area
Prevention Institute
Project Open Hand
Public Health Institute
Roots of Change
Smoke BBQ, Berkeley
Wellstone Democratic Renewal Club
Urban Adamah Jewish Community Farm 
Youth Spirit Artworks 


Mayor Tom Bates
Councilmember Linda Maio, District 1
Councilmember Darryl Moore, District 2
Councilmember Max Anderson, District 3
Councilmember Jesse Arreguin, District 4
Councilmember Laurie Capitelli, District 5
Councilmember Susan Wengraf, District 6
Councilmember Kriss Worthington, District 7
Councilmember Gordon Wozniak, District 8
Alejandro Soto-Vigil, candidate for District 1
Sean Barry, candidate for District 7
George Beier, candidate for District 8
Mike Alvarez Cohen, candidate for District 8
Lori Droste, candidate for District 8
Jacquelyn McCormick, candidate for District 8


Judy Appel, Berkeley School Board Member
Joshua Daniels, Berkeley School Board President
Karen Hemphill, Berkeley School Board Member
Beatriz Leyva-Cutler, Berkeley School Board Member
Julie Sinai, Berkeley School Board Member
Ty Alper, Candidate for Berkeley School Board


Robert Reich, Chancellor’s Professor of Public Policy, UC Berkeley*
California State Senator Loni Hancock*
California State Assemblymember Nancy Skinner*
Keith Carson, Alameda County Board of Supervisors*
Michael Pollan, Knight Professor of Journalism, UC Berkeley*
Alice Waters, Founder, Edible Schoolyard Project; Executive Chef, Founder, and Owner of Chez Panisse
Dr. Vicki Alexander, Berkeley City Health Director, Retired
Martin Bourque, Executive Director, Ecology Center
Dr. Wendel Brunner, Director of Public Health Contra Costa County*
Linda Franklin, Nutrition Program Manager, Alameda County*
Charles Gibson, Berkeley Community Health Commission*
Rev. Kieran Healy, St. Mary Magdalen Parish-Berkeley*
Ann-Marie Hogan, Auditor, City of Berkeley*
Shirley Issel, Former Berkeley School Board President
John Tango Iverson, Singer/Activist, ACT UP East Bay & Occupy AIDS
Hon. Carole Davis Kennerly, former Berkeley Vice Mayor
Anna Blythe Lappe, Small Planet Institute
Marty Lynch, CEO of LifeLong Medical Care
Marian Mabel, Co-President, Malcolm X PTA
Dr. Paul M. Martin, President, American Baptist Seminary of the West*
Joy Moore, garden educator and community food activist
Xavier Morales, Executive Director, Latino Coalition for a Healthy California
Rev. Dr. Marvis Peoples, Pastor, Liberty Hill Missionary Baptist Church*
Trish Ratto, Health*Matters, University Health Services, UC Berkeley*
Dr. Jeff Ritterman, cardiologist and former Richmond City Council member
Joshua Room, Co-President, Malcolm X PTA
Ces Rosales, Berkeley Community Health Commission*
Holly Scheider, parent and public health activist
Dr. Lynn Silver, Senior Advisor, Public Health Institute
Rev. Michael Smith, McGee Ave. Baptist Church*
Lisa Stephens, Chair, Berkeley Rent Stabilization Board; Former Chair, Parks & Recreation Commission*
Tony Thurmond, Candidate for California State Assembly
Alice Walker, Author
Cornell C. S. Wheeler, Pastor, Missionary Church of God in Christ*

*affiliation is for identification purposes only


72 endorsements

Will you support?

Download, print and display this window sign to show your support!

Berkeley residents: want a lawn sign? Email your name and home address to, and a volunteer will drop one off asap.
Door to Door Canvassing
10am - 2pm
Meet at Campaign Headquarters
2225 Shattuck
Training Provided.
RSVP Appreciated. Email
Phone Banking

5:30pm - 8pm
Campaign Headquarters
2225 Shattuck
RSVP Appreciated. Email
Not able to make it to the evening phone bank or Saturday mobilization but would still like to volunteer? Not a problem! Come join us for our early calling shift or canvass Monday-Thursday from 1:30-5pm. Please email Evelyn Soto at to coordinate, or to set up a group canvass or phone bank event.